skip to main |
skip to sidebar
the bestwas the dance shared between the
(the ybf.com) Obamas, introduced by Mr. Denzel Washington, while Beyonce sang probably the most romantic song of ALL TIME: Etta James' At Last. (awww!!!)
So if the tears didn't flow when he was sworn in....they most surely did when the two of them slow danced. They are so amazing. I watched on tearfully as Obama held his wife close, and whispered sweet nothings to her that made giggle. (and me too) I distinctly ready his lips when he whispered "Hello My Love" to her. And the whole time
Mr. President looked like he wanted to do a dip on Ms. Michelle that would show everybody out.
So now all the ladies are wondering, what can I do to get a relationship like that... and i'm not excluded.
in the performance aspect: BEE rocked that. and bigUP to Nick Cannon for KILLIN the oldies (the music i love and he did NOT fail me); a.keys was iight although i'm not crazy about her slow then fast rendition of No One, and I have to say I thought the group collaboration of Stevie Wonder's Signed, Sealed, Delivered was a nice idea, and I LOVE STEVIE, anyone who really knows me knows, but I always hate when a bunch of singers of all genres come onstage to sing a legendary and classic song such as this. It just doesnt always turn out right when some people know the adlibs and WORDS to the song, and some people are reading the prompter. NOT cute. thats a song you SHOULD know as a musician in my opinion, regardless of what type of music you specialize in...(MARIAH!!!, wtf?!)
so now i will fall asleep in total BLISS thinking of the wonderful world of the Obamas and ball-hopping.
black love baby.
goodnite and sweetdreams (as nick is still rockin!)
welcome back optimism. may i take your coat...
(theybf) she is too cute.
i think im done for now. just wanna remember all of this.
the reverend Joseph Lowery said it BEST. the thing about blacks can get back and browns can get down (i am paraphrasing). he was too funny by the way.
My God, I've learned so much today. If I never understood the principles and the ideals of freedom, and equality, and what a working government feels like, and the presence of respect for all upon which this country was built, I get it now. The ceremonies were remarkable from sunup to sundown, and it aint over yet. I feel like I was there, although I know that actually being there would probably be so much more of an unremarkable, and heart-warming feeling. nonetheless, thanks abc.I loved all of the "ten-dollar" words I've heard today from the commentators mainly.and I LOVED hearing ...a) the first person to address Barack as "Mr. President", and the sly smile that came across his face.
b) Michelle being FLLYYY in this brickness we call winter.
c) the cuteness of sasha and malia.
d) the black bands in the PARADE!!! (yesss delstate, i see you!)
e) "Let Bush's outgoing photos be 'respectfully disposed'."
pleeez let me do it.
f) the obamas in that black caddy with the black driver and them FINE black secret service men.
g) Ms. First Lady holding the bible and looking deep into his eyes as Mr. President was sworn in. whew.
H) and the BEST part in my opinion....Obama saying DEUCES to Bush and his wife as they were forced to evacuate the premises. yesssss. the best part of bush's entire run was seeing him fly the hell away on that helicopter.
so if u have never seen a bow before....THIS is a BOW! yesss ms. franklin.
and the most exciting ball of the ten that Mr. President and First Lady Michelle (love it) must attend ALL in one night: The Neighborhood Ball hasnt even happened yet.
I'm beat, what a day. What a country. The slaves have risen and held hands around that presidential city they worked so hard to build. Thank You.
So the comments about President Obama not being "black enough" or "proud enough" , or any of the other things that I am myself am guilty of once saying, should die tonight. Because that man paid HOMAGE (in my opinion) to his blackness today. He was proud, he was confident, and enjoyed those black bands and drumlines that came through the parade with those silver and gold pants on doing it up. If you expected him to be wearing a dashiki under his suit, I am sure you were disappointed, but he did NOT shy away from the fact that he has made history today as the first black prez with a black wife at his side. LOVED it. but people wil criticize regardless, so bring it.
I want one of them glass bowls that Mr. President and Mr. Vice President got by the way.
i cant wait to see them dance to beyonce's voice. does it get any bigger? honestly. signing off. more thoughts to come.
thank ya lord.
"damn do it tomorrow...nah nah thats obama day...wednesday wednesday"
ya gotta have a disclaimer! so....here's my shit. I kinda wanted a blog for a while, and though i dont know how long it might last, whatever.
here's a little bit of everything.
blog 1: this is cute.
So....OBAMA huh?!
And not just Obama, but everything. This has really been a ride: a crazy couple of weeks, and months. specifically speaking of last week, with the plane that made that perfect landing, [you cant even call it a crash] into the Hudson River. All I have to say is 10.10.10! I was praying my hardest for God to spare the lives of those people if it wasn't time for them to go, and, I guess it wasn't.So the best part for me was that while I, and everyone else, were thinking the WORST that those people were trapped or had already drowned, they had long ago been rescued.
gives. me. chills. so if you havent realized....life is MAD short. it always takes pain and loss to realize that for us, but why does it have to anymore?have some muthaf!@#$n fun. live this shit up.
i know i will. ride this bitch til the wheels fall off, and then "we'll be riding on rims"-kelis.
so congratz to all those people who will continue live, WELCOME BACK TO LIFE! But BIGGUPS to the Pilot who made that ever-so-perfect landing and devised the plan that would have affected MILLIONS in 80 seconds flat. (80 seconds?!!) sidebar: i would be freaking the F*CK out, and probably crash the whole plane even when we had a chance.
the wings of honor this guys gonna receive will be sick!
Miracles move me.
and onto another miracle...that of Dr.King Jr.
the man, the legend, the mover. his voice and his speeches give me CHILLzz. nothing more to say than that. our grammz and grampz fought hardddd to see this day be recognized, and i will never let their efforts, or his go in vain...ever.
honor this day, before they try to say its not even a holiday anymore...(Sephora!!!!)
and now....



mmmmhhmmm.
i love this man. my people love this man. and if we needed anything, ANYTHING at all to unite us and force us all to re-focus as one again, its Obama, and his sense of family, and the hope that he instills in our hearts even before he's had the power.
thank u thank u thank u. we're about to have a BLACK PREZ.
whatever he does will be more than what we're used to, and i have faith he will do it all....so what i'm a little presumptuous. ;)
what gives YOU chills?
i cant say enough, there i've said it.